PowerShell Highlights of 2010

What were your key events of last year? Here’s my list:

PowerGUI Highlights

  • Reached 1,000,000 downloads (frankly, I still cannot fully comprehend that),
  • Released MobileShell – PowerShell server which gives you PowerShell command line (and scripts) to manage your IT in any computer browser or even mobile device: iPad, iPhone, Android, Blackberry, Windows Phone…
  • Script Editor is now extensible and has a rich set of add-ons adding almost any feature you could think of.

PowerShell for developers

PowerShell Projects

PowerShell Training

Contests

Usergroups

New cmdlets

A lot of companies and Microsoft product teams released cmdlets, modules, PowerPacks, etc.:

Books

Oh, and NASA started to use PowerShell to control their space craft. Almost. OK, not really… This was an April 1 joke. But wouldn’t it be cool if they did?

I know that the list seems a bit biased including a lot of PowerShell projects in which I was involved one way or another. This is not by intent and is a simple consequence of how memory works. 🙂 This has been an amazing PowerShell year! Please add your PowerShell events of the year in the comments below!

Merry Christmas, Happy Holidays and a great New Year to all of you!

4 Responses to “PowerShell Highlights of 2010”


  1. 1 Ravikanth@Ravichaganti.com December 24, 2010 at 10:28 am

    ..and

    Dell released the PowerShell cmdlets to manage EqualLogic storage, there is a PowerShell group on Facebook too, I released my remoting ebook ;-p, and I became a PowerShell MVP 😉

    • 2 Dmitry Sotnikov December 24, 2010 at 5:17 pm

      Ravi,

      Thanks! Yes, this was a great year for the PowerShell MVP community I was just worried that if I start naming new PowerShell MVPs of 2010 I will miss a few – which would be bad. Let me try though:

      NEW POWERSHELL MVPs of 2010:

      Aleksandar Nikolic
      Jonathan Medd
      Sean Kearney
      Martin Zugec
      Ravikanth Chaganti
      Krishna R
      Niklas Goude
      Efran Cobisi

      I hope I did not miss anyone!
      Dmitry

  2. 3 Oisin Grehan December 24, 2010 at 2:34 pm

    I thought my scripted powershell provider stuff was pretty cool, cough. 😉

    http://psprovider.codeplex.com

    • 4 Dmitry Sotnikov December 24, 2010 at 4:49 pm

      Oisin,

      PowerShell Script Provider is indeed supercool and elegant! It’s a shame indeed that I missed it when compiling the list. Thanks for fixing this and posting the link!

      Dmitry


Leave a comment




Legal

The posts on this blog are provided “as is” with no warranties and confer no rights. The opinions expressed on this site are mine and mine alone, and do not necessarily represent those of my employer - WSO2 or anyone else for that matter. All trademarks acknowledged.

© 2007-2014 Dmitry Sotnikov

December 2010
M T W T F S S
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031