Get me all groups I manage

Finding all AD groups someone owns is as easy as:

Get-QADGroup -ManagedBy 'Dmitry Sotnikov'

(Obviously put your name, sAMAccountName, DN, email address or another identifier instead of mine. πŸ˜‰ )

This is one of the nice little features added in QAD cmdlets 1.3.

One interesting modification of this cmdlet is to look for all groups owned by your reports:

Get-QADGroup -ManagedBy (Get-QADUser -Manager 'Dmitry Sotnikov')

Or with some output:

Get-QADGroup -ManagedBy (Get-QADUser -Manager 'Dmitry Sotnikov') | Format-Table Name, ManagedBy

Now you can see which groups maybe you should no longer manage, or find nice unused groups for some safe experiments. πŸ˜‰

6 Responses to “Get me all groups I manage”


  1. 1 Jose July 9, 2010 at 1:41 am

    I need to clean up over 1000 DL groups and wanted to see if it’s possible to create a script to email each DL owner with the DL and members details to find out if the DL is still in use and needed?

    • 2 Dmitry Sotnikov July 9, 2010 at 4:47 pm

      Jose,

      Yes, this is absolutely possible. Getting groups is easy with Get-QADGroup. Then you can use the ManagedBy property of the group object to find the owner. I think this will give you the DN, which you can then supply to Get-QADUser to get the actual user object which would have the email address.

      For sending email, Send-MailMessage is your friend.

      If you get stuck you might want to post additional questions to the forums at http://powergui.org

      Dmitry

      • 3 Jose July 12, 2010 at 4:45 am

        I’m new to scripting so I was hoping to find a script I can use. Do you know if there’s already such a script I can use?

  2. 4 Miguel July 10, 2013 at 10:00 am

    How would I get the Owner of the DL? Not the Managedby but the Owner


  1. 1 Active Directory Rodeo 1/5/2010 - The Experts Community Trackback on January 5, 2010 at 1:19 pm

Leave a comment




Legal

The posts on this blog are provided β€œas is” with no warranties and confer no rights. The opinions expressed on this site are mine and mine alone, and do not necessarily represent those of my employer - WSO2 or anyone else for that matter. All trademarks acknowledged.

Β© 2007-2014 Dmitry Sotnikov

December 2009
M T W T F S S
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031