LINQ for PowerShell?

If PowerShell is the language for IT professionals in the Windows world, similar to .NET/C# getting the niche for programmers, does this mean that we should get a PowerShell way of working with databases, similar to the LINQ extensions the .NET folks got?

Joel has just posted a very good article on why the notion on PowerShell provider would not work for SQL data access.

So what is the alternative we are getting? Invoking Run-SQLCmd and supplying a SQL query is OK for SQL gurus, but is way to complex for me. After all, there are reasons why people are using AD cmdlets to manage their Active Directory instead of going the ADSI path: reduced complexity, unified PowerShell approach and not having to learn the LDAP query language. All of these apply to SQL, right?

And, by the way, I am not sure I know the answer. Like Richard, I wish SQL 2008 had more cmdlets covering all SQL administration tasks. But then, when looking at what LINQ did to .NET, I can’t help thinking that there might be yet another very elegant solution we are all missing. (Or maybe not, and like in AD, a carefully designed set of cmdlets would do the job.)

PowerShell is all about reducing the complexity and providing unified administrative approach across all platforms. I wonder what needs to be done to get this include the database world.

Tags: ,

2 Responses to “LINQ for PowerShell?”


  1. 1 matthew April 14, 2008 at 11:23 pm

    If you decide, I will follow. the Quest AD Cmdlet coolaid has made me want to drink more. Great Stuff. Thanks, Matthew

  2. 2 dmitrysotnikov April 16, 2008 at 10:51 pm

    Matthew,

    Hm… I am not sure I wanted to go as far as that. 😉 I am an AD/Exchange/SharePoint guy. DB stuff has always been the dark side of IT for me. Which I guess is the reason why I kind of hoped that PowerShell would hide the SQL query and SQL command complexity from me, and let me manage SQL databases and work with the data in a transparent and intuitive way. Which did not happen. I hope it will eventually…

    Dmitry


Leave a comment




Legal

The posts on this blog are provided “as is” with no warranties and confer no rights. The opinions expressed on this site are mine and mine alone, and do not necessarily represent those of my employer - WSO2 or anyone else for that matter. All trademarks acknowledged.

© 2007-2014 Dmitry Sotnikov

April 2008
M T W T F S S
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930