PowerShell cmdlets in SharePoint 2010

[UPDATE] See this blog post for up to date SharePoint 2010 PowerShell Reference.

SharePoint has for a long time been a notable absentee at the PowerShell party – but it looks like the wait is now almost over. Technical Preview of the product shared by Microsoft just a few days ago has at least a few cmdlets shipped with it.

If you download “Customizing the Ribbon in Windows® SharePoint® Services “14”” documentation publicly available here (found this via Frank Migacz) you can find these instructions in the PDF file:

To deploy a Feature by using Windows PowerShell, you install it and then enable it by using the following commands.
Install-SPFeature FeatureId
Enable-SPFeature FeatureId -Url http://server/site/subsite

Judging by these examples, nouns in cmdlets are pre-fixed with “SP” to avoid possible naming conflicts.

I’ll keep you posted on any new developments and public information on PowerShell in SharePoint 2010.

For now, it looks like this is a huge step forward by the SharePoint team making the new version much more manageable. Awesome news and great work!

Tags: , ,

8 Responses to “PowerShell cmdlets in SharePoint 2010”


  1. 1 Rick July 17, 2009 at 3:25 pm

    Yup, only if Vali had ran ‘get-command *SP*’ would be know the right number of SP cmdlets in SPS2010🙂

  2. 2 Rick July 17, 2009 at 3:33 pm

    Or if its PoSH v2, get-command -TYPE CMDLET *SP*

  3. 3 sarbjit singh gill July 19, 2009 at 4:08 pm

    You are breaking the NDA dear MVP.

  4. 4 Dmitry Sotnikov July 19, 2009 at 6:19 pm

    No I am not breaking the NDA here. If you read the post carefully, it contains no information which has not been made publicly available by Microsoft or others before me – links to all sources provided – so I am good.

  5. 5 Valy Greavu July 19, 2009 at 6:32 pm

    It is my guilty. I broke the NDA, and I’m sorry for that. I know that this is a late excussion but I was so excited to download and install SharePoint 2010… and I ignored all NDA messages. It is my stupidity and I will accept the concequences of that action. Dmitry ask me if I’m brocking the NDA and I told them that I do not know nothing about the subject and I do not think that this could be a problem.
    My original post is deleted.

  6. 6 Dmitry Sotnikov July 21, 2009 at 5:48 am

    OK, I have then also removed the information I got from Valy’s blog. Now only quoting the public document from Microsoft.


  1. 1 PowerShell in SharePoint 2010 « SharePoint Tech Blog Trackback on September 3, 2009 at 2:21 am
  2. 2 links for 2009-12-08 « Jet Grrl Trackback on December 9, 2009 at 12:34 am

Leave a Reply

My Recent Tweets

Legal

The posts on this blog are provided “as is” with no warranties and confer no rights. The opinions expressed on this site are mine and mine alone, and do not necessarily represent those of my employer - WSO2 or anyone else for that matter. All trademarks acknowledged.

© 2007-2014 Dmitry Sotnikov

July 2009
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

