PowerGUI Reviews

There were a few recent reviews of PowerGUI which I found worthwhile:

  • PowerShell, PowerGUI, AD cmdlets and Ambidextrous Scripting – excellent write up by Guy Thomas. And no, I didn’t know the word ambidextrous either, so it is worth reading even just for the sake of improving your vocabulary. Guy is actually making very good points on the philosophy behind these tools and IT management in general.
  • One of the most hilarious reviews on PowerGUI and PowerShell was definitely the one by Andy Schneider. I’ll just put the two quotes that I cannot help putting – and so you know that PowerShell is not necessarily for family use:
    • Dude, this is fricking AWESOME
    • WOW, I have being playing with some of the AD and E2K7 stuff, this tool kicks so much butt !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  • Last but not least is Michael’s review of PowerGUI at 4sysops – one of the best IT sites out there. It is definitely an honor for us to get reviewed on the site. Thanks Michael!

Thanks guys! Your feedback is very important and helps us make the products better and find a reason to go to the office in the morning.😉

Tags: , ,

3 Responses to “PowerGUI Reviews”


  1. 1 Alexey April 18, 2008 at 2:41 pm

    Dmitry, hi.

    Tried to use PowerGUI with Windows SharePoint Services v3 and found an inconsistency between online script execution and PowerGUI stepwise dubugging.

    The following code halts with ‘Array index evaluated to null’ in PowerGUI Script Editor whereas the same works perfectly when executing online:

    [system.reflection.assembly]::LoadWithPartialName(“Microsoft.SharePoint”)
    $my_path = “S:\Project_library”
    $my_doclib = “http://projectlibrary.company.ru/doclib”
    $my_relweb = “/”
    $my_site = new-object Microsoft.SharePoint.SPSite($my_doclib)
    $my_web = $my_site.OpenWeb($my_relweb)
    $my_folder = $my_web.getfolder($my_doclib)
    $my_folder.containingdocumentlibrary
    $my_list = $my_web.lists[$my_folder.ContainingDocumentLibrary]

    All objects are guaranteed to exist. Replacing the indented line wuth assignment to a variable further on passed as the index does not help.

    Could you please geive me feedback on whether I misunderstand something or is it a bug somewhere?

    Thanks in advance.
    Alexey Krasheninnikov

  2. 2 dmitrysotnikov April 18, 2008 at 6:24 pm

    Alexey, could you post the same question to the online forums at PowerGUI.org? The dev guys are always there and might have good ideas to help troubleshoot or fix the issue.

  3. 3 Dmitry Sotnikov February 9, 2009 at 12:58 pm

    I believe this issue is now fixed


Leave a Reply

My Recent Tweets

Legal

The posts on this blog are provided “as is” with no warranties and confer no rights. The opinions expressed on this site are mine and mine alone, and do not necessarily represent those of my employer - WSO2 or anyone else for that matter. All trademarks acknowledged.

© 2007-2014 Dmitry Sotnikov

March 2008
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

