Russian Channel 9 goes Silverlight

Microsoft seems to be starting making Silverlight (aka Flash-killer) as the primary option to view content on some of its sites. The one I spotted is the regional Russian Channel 9 video site.

I went to the site to see the newly posted Russian version of the PowerShell for AD video with Jeffrey Snover and myself – and had to install the Silverlight plug-in to do that.

I think this was the first time (apart from the web pages on Silverlight itself and demo prototypes such as Tafiti) when Microsoft started doing that. Of course this should help drive wider adoption but at the same time I guess you need to be sure that the content is valuable enough for the visitor to install the plug-in – which was the case with me wanting to watch myself on the video.😉

UPDATE: It looks like they now also added (or it was there from the get go and I just did not notice it) the option to download the wmv version of the video. It is just that it is somewhat below and in smaller font so Silverlight is a much more noticeable option (and the only one for video streaming.)

Tags: , , ,

2 Responses to “Russian Channel 9 goes Silverlight”


  1. 1 matthew September 26, 2007 at 4:35 am

    Dimitry,
    this comment is nothing about this post…, but just a general comment.

    I just did our stale user account cleanup using the quest AD cmdlets. You guys rock. It absolutely awesome how flexible these tools are. Thanks for much for this.

    I did my this script in 6 lines of PS. In my planning for a VBScirpt solution, i was envisioning hundreds of lines and less flexibility. It’s only 12:30am. Man… what do I do with the rest of the evening! 😉

    Keep up the great work!

    Thanks!
    Matthew

  2. 2 dmitrysotnikov September 26, 2007 at 9:12 am

    Thanks Matthew! Feedback like this really means a lot to us! I’ll pass it to the rest of the team.

    I hope the rest of the evening was as good as the beginning.🙂

    Dmitry


Leave a Reply

My Recent Tweets

Legal

The posts on this blog are provided “as is” with no warranties and confer no rights. The opinions expressed on this site are mine and mine alone, and do not necessarily represent those of my employer - WSO2 or anyone else for that matter. All trademarks acknowledged.

© 2007-2014 Dmitry Sotnikov

September 2007
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Oct »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930

