Hello world!

Hello world!

For anyone who studied computer science these are the words to start anything new with. I even remember reading the C programming book by Brian Kernighan and Dennis Ritchie back in the University so what else would you expect to be the first blog entry from me?

Anyway, I guess here goes the introduction part. I work for Quest Software as New Product Research Manager for our Windows Management Business Unit. I have been considering blogging for quite some time now but my job actually makes it pretty challenging. For example, a couple of years ago when I was working on early prototypes of our SharePoint management products my employer probably didn’t want posts about that to appear in the blogosphere. So for the last year or so I’ve been blogging in Quest intranet only. Which was good but not as ego-satisfying I guess.

Finally, it turned out that I could not get rid of one of my “research” projects – PowerGUI (UI for Windows PowerShell – more on this in subsequent posts) and will keep “owning” it for the time being. So I thought – hey, here’s finally a good reason to start blogging!

I hope this sounds like a reasonable excuse and so here we go:

main() {
 	printf("hello, world"); 
}

5 Responses to “Hello world!”


  1. 1 Carlos Caballero March 12, 2007 at 5:41 pm

    Welcome, Dmitry!

    I am looking forward to your postings, and have set an RSS feed to make sure I don’t miss anything. Knowing you, and knowing what you want to write about, I am sure your blog will be followed by lots of people. Write away!

  2. 2 dmitrysotnikov March 12, 2007 at 6:02 pm

    Thanks Carlos! Getting the first subscriber was surprisingly easy.😉

  3. 3 thescrappysoftwaremarketer March 15, 2007 at 3:54 pm

    Hey Dmitry,

    Found this blog and look forward to your posts.

    Cheers,

    Andrew Kordek

  4. 4 dmitrysotnikov March 19, 2007 at 7:53 am

    Andrew,

    Good to see you here!

    The Migration and other Windows Management discussion forums which we started on quest.com a few years ago are still really active and resulted in great and helpful communities. I really hope that PowerGUI.org will take these ideas to the next level.

    Dmitry


  1. 1 Never too late to start, correct? « Restore Point. SharePoint. Trackback on September 3, 2007 at 1:50 pm

Leave a Reply

My Recent Tweets

Legal

The posts on this blog are provided “as is” with no warranties and confer no rights. The opinions expressed on this site are mine and mine alone, and do not necessarily represent those of my employer - WSO2 or anyone else for that matter. All trademarks acknowledged.

© 2007-2014 Dmitry Sotnikov

March 2007
M T W T F S S
    Apr »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

